Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Mohammad Amir to join Pakistan squad in England, likely to miss Ireland series

Must read

Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Amir is facing uncertainty regarding his participation in the upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland starting on 10th May in Dublin. Reports indicate a visa delay that may see him miss crucial matches.

The issue arose when the Ireland Embassy initially declined to grant Amir a visa upon his first application, contrasting with the smooth processing of visas for other cricketers and officials involved in the tour.

Details regarding the reasons for Amir’s visa rejection have not been disclosed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). However, efforts are underway to resolve the situation, with the PCB reapplying for the left-arm pacer’s visa in collaboration with the Ireland Cricket Board. Despite these efforts, the visa has not yet been issued, leaving Amir’s immediate travel plans in limbo.

The PCB remains in close communication with the Ireland board to facilitate Amir’s visa approval. However, with no definitive response forthcoming, the prospect of Amir’s timely departure for Ireland appears increasingly uncertain.

Reports suggest that an alternative plan may see Amir joining the team directly in England instead of Ireland, although a final decision is pending and expected within the next few days.

Pakistan squad for Ireland and England series: Babar Azam (C), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan

Ireland squad for Pakistan series: Paul Stirling (C), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Schedule of Ireland vs Pakistan:

  • May 10: First T20I at Clontarf
  • May 12: Second T20I at Clontarf
  • May 14: Third T20I at Clontarf

England vs Pakistan T20I series:

  • May 22: First T20I in Leeds (10:30pm PST)
  • May 25: Second T20I in Birmingham (6:30pm PST)
  • May 28: Third T20I in Cardiff (10:30pm PST)
  • May 30: Fourth T20I at The Oval, London (10:30pm PST)

Latest article