Friday, May 24, 2024

Pakistan announce 18-member squad for Ireland and England tour, Haris Rauf recalled

Must read

Image Source : AP Pakistan cricket team.

Pakistan have announced an 18-member squad for the forthcoming T20I series against Ireland and England. The announcement witnesses the recall of Haris Rauf alongside allrounders Salman Ali Agha and Hasan Ali. The three players were not a part of the recently concluded New Zealand series.

Pacer Zaman Khan and leg-spinner Usama Mir have been left out of the squad. Both players were a part of the series against New Zealand and their exclusion leaves a very slim possibility of them making it to Pakistan’s squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

As per a press release issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board, Mohammad Rizwan, Azam Khan, Muhammad Irfan Khan and Haris Rauf underwent a medical assessment at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Lahore and the PCB medical panel and the team management have expressed satisfaction over their fitness.

Notably, Irfan, Rizwan and Azam had got injured during the course of the New Zealand series and were asked to report to the NCA. While Azam sustained a grade one tear in his right calf muscle, Rizwan and Irfan were sidelined due to niggles.

The Men’s National Selection Committee feels that the 18-member squad covers all the bases and can produce bright results on the forthcoming tours. It also encouraged Usama and Zaman “to continue to focus on their cricket so that they are available, if required”.

“The squad encompasses a robust top-order featuring Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, and Usman Khan; an effective middle-order with Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed and Muhammad Irfan Khan; versatile all-rounders in Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan and Salman Ali Agha; a pace battery led by Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi; and the spin prowess of Abrar Ahmed,” the release read.

“We understand Usama and Zaman will be disappointed and they should be as they must be looking ahead to the tours of Ireland and England. They are quality cricketers and have long careers ahead of them. They need to continue to focus on their cricket so that they are available, if required.”

Pakistan’s squad for the Ireland and England series:

Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Khan.

Latest article