Thursday, May 30, 2024

Pakistan Name Uncapped Salman Agha, Recall Haris Rauf For England And Ireland T20Is | Latest Cricket News Today

Must read

Pakistan have announced their squad for their T20I tour of England and Ireland ahead of the T20 World Cup, calling up Salman Agha, uncapped in T20Is.

The squad also marked the return of Hasan Ali and Haris Rauf. The 18-member squad will be pruned down to 15 for the T20 World Cup, which starts on June 1.

The announcement of the final 15-member T20 World Cup squad will be made after Pakistan’s first T20I against England on May 22. The final deadline that ICC has set for T20 World Cup squad announcements is May 24, while the deadline for naming (not announcing) the provisional squad was May 1.

Pakistan tour will involve seven games – three T20Is against Ireland from May 10-May 14, and four T20Is against England from May 22-May 30.

They recently played a five-match series against an under-strength New Zealand side, which they drew 2-2. From the squad that participated in that series, two players have not made the cut for the upcoming games: Usama Mir and Zaman Khan.

The official statement of the selection committee read: “We understand Usama and Zaman will be disappointed and they should be as they must be looking ahead to the tours of Ireland and England. They are quality cricketers and have long careers ahead of them. They need to continue to focus on their cricket so that they are available, if required.”

Pakistan will hold a three-day training camp in Lahore from 4-6 May, before departing for Dublin on May 7.

Pakistan squad for England and Ireland T20Is

Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Latest article