Connect with us

Football

When is Man City vs Bayern Munich? Date, time, odds, head-to-head history for Champions League quarterfinals

Published

on

Pep Guardiola’s quest to win the Champions League with Manchester City sees him return to former club Bayern Munich in the 2022/23 quarterfinals.

The Spanish boss was unable to win the biggest prize in European club football during his time in Bavaria, and his frustration has continued in Manchester, despite winning four Premier League titles.

There will be huge focus on Guardiola ahead of City’s two-legged showdown against Bayern with opposite number Julian Nagelsmann quietly confident over extending the English side’s misery on the European stage.

Here are all the important match details as Man City and Bayern Munich face off in Champions League action.

MORE: Champions League quarter finals draw 2023: Fixtures, schedule, teams

When is Man City vs Bayern Munich?

City host Bayern in the first leg on on Tuesday, April 11 at the Etihad Stadium in Manchester, with kickoff at 20:00 local time.

The second leg will take place at Bayern’s Allianz Arena on Wednesday, April 19, with kickoff at 21:00 local time.

Here’s how that translates into time zones across some of the world’s major territories. 

First leg

  Date Kickoff time
USA Tue, Apr. 11 15:00 ET
Canada Tue, Apr. 11 15:00 ET
UK Tue, Apr. 11 20:00 GMT
Australia Wed, Apr. 12 07:00 AEDT
India Wed, Apr. 12 01:30 IST
Hong Kong Wed, Apr. 12 04:00 HKT
Malaysia Wed, Apr. 12 04:00 MYT
Singapore Wed, Apr. 12 04:00 SGT
New Zealand Wed, Apr. 12 09:00 NZDT

Second leg 

  Date Kickoff time
USA Wed, Apr. 19 15:00 ET
Canada Wed, Apr. 19 15:00 ET
UK Wed, Apr. 19 20:00 GMT
Australia Thu, Apr. 20 07:00 AEDT
India Thu, Apr. 20 01:30 IST
Hong Kong Thu, Apr. 20 04:00 HKT
Malaysia Thu, Apr. 20 04:00 MYT
Singapore Thu, Apr. 20 04:00 SGT
New Zealand Thu, Apr. 20 09:00 NZDT

MORE: Watch every Premier League match live with fuboTV in Canada

Man City vs Bayern Munich history

Meetings between these two sides have generally involved one continuing theme: Guardiola.

These teams have met six times previously and the 52-year-old was in charge of Bayern for four of those. It’s a pretty even head-to-head, too, with each side having won three of those six games.

The pair traded 2-0 group-stage home wins in the 2011/12 Champions League, with Roberto Mancini’s side failing to reach the Round of 16 as Jupp Heynckes’ Bayern lost to Real Madrid in the semifinals.

Guardiola’s arrival in Germany was anticipated to trigger a Champions League title defence after Heynckes led Bayern to a famous treble in 2012/13. Again Bayern were paired with City in the group stages in 2013/14, and there was little to pick between them: each won at the home of the other to secure passage to the knockouts, with Bayern top of the group ahead of City.

But old habits are hard to shake, as City lost to Barcelona in Round of 16, and Bayern again fell at the penultimate hurdle against Los Blancos.

The following campaign saw Bayern and City paired in the same group again. After former defender Jerome Boateng returned to haunt City with a late winner in Munich, Manuel Pellegrini’s side needed a home win against Guardiola’s Bayern to avoid a shock early exit.

Sergio Aguero duly provided the all important goals in the dying minutes to ensure progression as City won 3-2 against 10-man Bayern. Barcelona ended the Champions League dreams of both sides in the knockout phase.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *