Thursday, May 23, 2024

Coláiste Bhríde Carnew plays host to All-Ireland basketball play-offs

Must read

A fantastic day of competition unfolds

The Coláiste Bhríde first year basketball team.

Johnny Gleeson gives last-minute instructions to his team ahead of their game against St. Leo’s.

Coláiste Bhríde’s Sophie O’Loughlin drives forward.

Aoibhe Doran on the attack.

Coláiste Bhríde’s Georgia Horan powers past a St. Leo’s player.

Colaiste Bhríde’s Caitlin O’Keeffe in possession.

The Colaiste Bhríde bench look on as the action unfolds.

Colaiste Bhríde’s Sophie O’Loughlin surges forward.

Coláiste Bhríde’s Sophie O’Loughlin makes a perfectly times tackle.

The Maryfield College team.

The St. Leo’s team from Carlow.

The Mount Street Roscarbery team from Cork.

Coláiste Bhríde hosted the first year All-Ireland basketball play-offs last week with teams travelling from Cork, Dublin and Carlow to do battle with a talented side from the Carnew school over the course of a busy day in the sports hall.

Teams representing St. Leo’s in Carlow, Maryfield College in Dublin and Mount Street Roscarbery from Cork made the trip to the Wexford border and a fantastic day of competition unfolded.

Coláiste Bhríde’s Niamh Wafer takes the ball out of her defence.

From early in the opening game of the day between the hosts and St. Leo’s it was clear that the Carlow students were going to be hard stopped. Despite a superb effort from the Coláiste Bhríde side, it was the visitors who emerged victorious by 18-7.

A defeat at the hands of the Dublin students left the Coláiste Bhríde girls in the shield final against Maryfield College where they finally found their rhythm with Ameerah Avbara and Sophie O’Loughlin shining bright on the way to a special win.

Colaiste Bhríde’s Emily Wafer jumps highest.

St. Leo’s proved too strong for the Cork side in the final and they marched on to the All-Ireland semi-final.

Coláiste Bhríde: Emily Wafer, Georgia Horan, Caitlin O’Keeffe, Niamh Wafer, Neasa O’Neill, Sophie O’Loughlin, Abbie Finnerty, Sophie Kavanagh, Clodagh Bolger, Rochelle Ryan, Kate Healy, Ameerah Avbara.

Coaches: Mr. Gleeson, Ms. Dermody.

Latest article