Friday, June 21, 2024

Dr Hyde Park confirmed as the venue for Dublin’s clash against Mayo to decide who tops Group 2

Must read

And Galway’s final group game with Armagh will be played in Sligo’s Markievicz Park on the same day at 1.45pm.

Both games will decide who tops their respective groups and makes the All-Ireland quarter-finals directly.

The times, dates and venues for the final round of All-Ireland SFC group games have been confirmed.

Mayo had communicated with the GAA’s Central Competition Controls Committee, outlining they did not want to travel to Croke Park to play Dublin in the neutral round.

But the game was never likely to be fixed there anyway and Dr Hyde Park was always the obvious choice, with a capacity of around 22,000.

It will be the first time Dublin and Mayo will meet in a championship game that is not knock-out, and consequently, the crowd is not expected to test that capacity.

Today’s Sports News in 90 Seconds – 4th June

In the other Group 2 game, Roscommon and Cavan will play in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park at 5.0 on Saturday week, third place and an away preliminary quarter-final are at stake.

Those Group 2 games do not have to go ahead simultaneously because Roscommon and Cavan are both four points adrift of Dublin and Mayo and can’t influence the top two places.

Similarly, the Derry-Westmeath in Group 1 is going ahead at 7pm on Saturday evening in Newry.

In Group 3, Donegal and Clare will play in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park at 3pm on Saturday week, with Tyrone and Cork on at the same time at a midlands venue yet to be confirmed.

But it will take place as a curtain-raiser to one of the All-Ireland preliminary hurling quarter-finals in either O’Connor Park Tullamore or Portlaoise, also at 3pm on Saturday.

Those preliminary hurling quarter-finals will see the Joe McDonagh Cup winners, Offaly or Laois, play Cork, with the losers playing Wexford. Both Joe McDonagh finalists will have home advantage.

Meanwhile, in Group 4, Kerry and Louth meet at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise at 3pm on Sunday week for the second successive year, this time with a quarter-final place at stake.

Monaghan and Meath will meet in Kingspan Breffni Park at the same time to decide who will prolong their championship interest beyond the weekend.

RTE will broadcast the Armagh/Galway and Dublin/Mayo games on Sunday afternoon. GAAGO will broadcast Tyrone v Cork and then Derry v Westmeath on Saturday and will also broadcast Monaghan v Meath the following day.

Latest article