Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Pakistan recall Hasan Ali for England, Ireland T20Is; delay T20 World Cup squad announcement

Must read

Hasan Ali has taken 60 T20I wickets from 50 matches but hasn’t played in the format for Pakistan since the Asia Cup in September 2022.
read more

Pakistan have recalled seamer Haris Rauf and medium-pacer Hasan Ali for the T20I series against Ireland and England later this month, as part of their final warm-ups for the T20 World Cup.

Wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan, Azam Khan and Muhammad Irfan Khan, who all suffered injuries last month against New Zealand, were also included in an 18-man squad.

Pakistan’s selectors have decided against naming a
T20 World Cup
squad as of now. Selectors said the 15-member World Cup squad will be announced after the first T20 against England on 22 May. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has set 24 May as the deadline for participating teams to finalise their squads.

“We are having fitness issues with a few players but we hope that during the England tour we will be able to finalise the World Cup squad,” selector Wahab Riaz told a news conference in Lahore.

Rauf has not played since injuring his shoulder during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in February.

“Rauf has started bowling and by the time we will be playing England he will be match fit,” said Riaz.

“As a back-up we have included Hasan Ali in the squad.” Hasan has not played a Twenty20 international for Pakistan since September 2022.

Hasan Ali has taken 60 T20I wickets from 50 matches but hasn’t played in the format since the Asia Cup in September 2022. He has been playing for Warwickshire in the English County Championship Division One and came under consideration after taking 14 wickets in the PSL while representing Karachi Kings.

Leg-spinner Usama Mir and fast bowler Zaman Khan, who both featured in the
drawn series against New Zealand
, were cut. Spin all-rounder Agha Salman, who has played Tests and one-day internationals, is line for his T20 debut after being included.

“We understand Usama and Zaman will be disappointed,” said Wahab Riaz, one of seven members on the selection committee. “They are quality cricketers and have long careers ahead of them. They need to continue to focus on their cricket so that they are available, if required.”

The selectors have given another chance to Usman Khan, who shifted his allegiance to Pakistan from UAE, resulting in a five-year ban from the Emirates Cricket Board. Usman scored only 59 runs in four matches against New Zealand with a top score of 31, and struggled to make an impact.

Pakistan play Ireland in Dublin on 10, 12 and 14 May. Four matches follow against England at Headingley in Leeds on 22 May, Edgbaston in Birmingham (May 25), Sophia Gardens in Cardiff (May 28) and the Oval in London (May 30).

Pakistan T20 squad for matches in Ireland and England: Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Agha Salman, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

Latest article