Saturday, July 13, 2024

Rory McIlroy and Shane Lowry to represent Ireland at Paris Olympics

Must read

The qualifying period came to an end at the US Open at Pinehurst on Sunday, when McIlroy suffered a devastating runners-up finish to Bryson DeChambeau after holding a two-shot lead with five holes to play.

The 60-player field features players representing 32 different countries, with the United States the only nation to have more than two qualifiers.

The top 15 players in the world rankings were eligible for Paris, with a limit of four players per country. Countries without players in the top 15 can take a maximum of two.

World number one Scottie Scheffler, defending champion Xander Schauffele, Wyndham Clark and Collin Morikawa will represent the USA from August 1-4 with DeChambeau missing out.

The US Open champion’s strong major form has not been enough for the 30-year-old to force his way into the four-player American squad, with DeChambeau only rising to 10th in the Official World Golf Rankings that determine selection.

Host nation France was guaranteed at least one spot, with Matthieu Pavon and Victor Perez qualifying.

Former US Open champion Matt Fitzpatrick and Tommy Fleetwood qualified for Great Britain, with two-time major winner Jon Rahm – who had to withdraw from the US Open with a foot injury – and David Puig set to represent Spain.

Each National Olympic Committee will have until June 27 to officially confirm their athletes to the International Golf Federation.

Paris 2024 men’s golf field in full

USA: Scottie Scheffler, Xander Schauffele, Wyndham Clark, Collin Morikawa

Ireland: Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry

Sweden: Ludvig Aberg, Alex Noren

Norway: Viktor Hovland, Kristoffer Ventura

Spain: Jon Rahm, David Puig

Japan: Hideki Matsuyama, Keita Nakajima

France: Mathieu Pavon, Victor Perez

Austria: Sepp Straka

Australia: Jason Day, Min Woo Lee

South Korea: Tom Kim, An Byeong-hun

Canada: Nick Taylor, Corey Conners

South Africa: Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Erik van Rooyen

Germany: Stephan Jager, Matti Schmid

Denmark: Nicolai Hojgaard, Thorbjorn Olesen

Belgium: Thomas Detry, Adrien Dumont de Chassart

Argentina: Emiliano Grillo, Alejandro Tosti

New Zealand: Ryan Fox, Daniel Hillier

Poland: Adrian Meronk

Chile: Joaquin Niemann, Cristobal del Solar

Finland: Sami Valimaki

Chinese Taipei: Yu-Chun-an, Pan Cheng-tsung

Netherlands: Joost Luiten, Darius van Driel

China: Yuan Yechun, Dou Zecheng

Colombia: Camilo Villegas, Nico Echavarria

Italy: Matteo Manassero, Guido Migliozzi

India: Shubhankar Sharma, Gaganjeet Bhullar

Puerto Rico: Rafael Campos

Mexico: Carlos Ortiz, Abraham Ancer

Thailand: Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Phachara Khongwatmai

Malaysia: Gavin Green

Paraguay: Fabrizio Zanotti

Latest article