Saturday, July 13, 2024

South Africa vs Ireland: Peter O’Mahony drops to bench with Caelan Doris to captain Andy Farrell’s side

Must read

Ireland captain Peter O’Mahony has dropped to the bench while Bundee Aki is ruled out for Ireland’s second Test against South Africa in Durban on Saturday – live on Sky Sports.

Needing a win over the Springboks to level the series, Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made four changes to the side that lost 27-20 to the world champions last weekend in a heavyweight encounter at Loftus Versfeld.

O’Mahony has been named on the bench, with Caelan Doris to instead captain the side for the second time, at Kings Park.

The injured Craig Casey is replaced by Conor Murray at scrum-half but Jamie Osborne and Robbie Henshaw have both been passed fit to play from the start after being forced off in last Saturday’s first Test.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Conor Murray races over to score a late try and keep Ireland in the hunt against South Africa.

With centre Aki not in the squad after sustaining a shoulder issue, Garry Ringrose is named to partner Henshaw, who moves to inside centre.

In the second positional change from the opening match, Tadhg Beirne drops in to the back row to replace the benched O’Mahony at blindside flanker

Ireland are chasing only their second ever win over the Springboks on South African soil in Durban.

Ireland: 15 Jamie Osborne, 14 Calvin Nash, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 James Lowe, 10 Jack Crowley, 9 Conor Murray; 1 Andrew Porter, 2 Rónan Kelleher, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 4 Joe McCarthy; 5. James Ryan, 6 Tadhg Beirne, 7 Josh van der Flier, 8 Caelan Doris (c)

Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Ryan Baird, 20 Peter O’Mahony, 21 Caolin Blade, 22 Ciaran Frawley, 23 Stuart McCloskey

When to watch Saturday’s four internationals live on Sky Sports Action this Saturday

Hosts unchanged for Durban clash in pursuit of series win

South Africa had already named their side on Wednesday and confirmed unchanged matchday 23 for Saturday’s second Test.

Rassie Erasmus’ starting XV – captained by flanker Siya Kolisi – is the most experienced in Springboks history with 990 caps combined, three more than the total won by the team which began last year’s 12-11 Rugby World Cup final win over New Zealand.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk; 1 Ox Nche, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 3 Frans Malherbe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8 Kwagga Smith.

Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 RG Snyman, 21 Marco van Staden, 22 Grant Williams, 23 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.

Watch South Africa against Ireland live on Saturday from 3.30pm on Sky Sports Action and Main Event (4pm kick-off) Stream rugby’s summer internationals in 2024 and more with a NOW Sports Month Membership. No contract, cancel anytime.

Latest article