Monday, July 22, 2024

UK Election 2024 Live: Britain set for voting today; opinion polls predict historic win for Labour Party’s Starmer

Must read

UK Election 2024 Live Updates: Election night imeline

10 pm Thursday

Voting ends.

BBC, Sky, and ITV release Ipsos exit poll.

11 pm

North East England constituencies race to complete counts.

Blyth and Ashington results at 11:30 p.m.

Houghton and Sunderland South results at 11:45 p.m.


Potential first Tory loss in Basildon and Billericay.

Labour’s first gain from Tories in Broxbourne expected.

Labour may regain red wall seats starting with Cramlington and Killingworth.

1 am Friday

Labour gains possible from SNP in redrawn Rutherglen.

Labour gains from Tories in Leigh and Atherton, Swindon North.

Liberal Democrats could gain Harrogate and Knaresborough.

2 am

Tories defend North West Essex, Castle Point, Havant.

Labour looks to gain Middlesbrough South, East Cleveland, Glenrothes, Mid Fife, West Dunbartonshire, Paisley, Renfrewshire South.

2:30 am

Speaker Lindsay Hoyle’s Chorley seat announces.

Labour hopes to regain Heywood, Middleton North, Burnley, Bolsover.

Liberal Democrats target Stratford-on-Avon, North East Hampshire.

Key seat: Rochdale.

3 am

Over 100 seats announce results.

Labour aims to win back red wall seats: Bolton North East, Dudley, Great Grimsby, Cleethorpes, Tipton, Wednesbury, West Bromwich.

Islington North result for Jeremy Corbyn.

Tory cabinet ministers at risk in Cheltenham, Forest of Dean.

3:15 am

Greens target Bristol Central.

Labour and Liberal Democrats aim for Stroud, Witney, Caerfyrddin, Scunthorpe.

Liberal Democrat leader Ed Davey’s seat due to announce.

3:30 am

Labour aims for red wall seats: Gedling, Hyndburn, Rother Valley, Wolverhampton North East.

Blue wall seats: Esher and Walton, Harrow East.

Dover and Deal results.

3:45 am

Labour hopes to take Redditch, Ribble Valley.

Liberal Democrats target Wimbledon, Carshalton, Wallington.

4 am

More than 120 constituencies declare.

Potential Tory losses in Richmond, Northallerton, Braintree, Central Devon.

Nigel Farage’s Reform UK seeks Clacton, Boston and Skegness.

Labour targets Newton Aycliffe, Spennymoor, Penistone, Stocksbridge, Birmingham Northfield, Bishop Auckland, Birmingham Ladywood.

4:15 am

Starmer’s expected win in Holborn and St. Pancras.

Uxbridge and South Ruislip likely to fall to Labour.

4:30 am

Labour could reach 326 seats.

Tory losses: North East Somerset, Hanham, Worthing West, Monmouthshire, Kensington and Bayswater, Milton Keynes North, Surrey Heath, Tunbridge Wells.

Minor party success in Brighton Pavilion.

5 am

Potential cabinet casualties in Banbury, Ely, East Cambridgeshire.

Labour targets Earley and Woodley, Filton and Bradley Stoke, Truro and Falmouth, North Somerset, Hitchin, Doncaster East, Isle of Axholme, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Ossett, Denby Dale, Stoke-on-Trent.

Liberal Democrats aim for Lewes, Newbury, Winchester, Maidenhead.

5:30 am

Liz Truss expected to hold South West Norfolk.

Labour targets Chipping Barnet, Hendon.

Liberal Democrats target Didcot and Wantage.

Deputy Labour leader Angela Rayner’s seat declares.

6 am

Last results trickle in.

Liberal Democrats hold Chesham and Amersham, target Wokingham, Henley and Thame.

Labour targets Croydon South, Wycombe.

6:30 am

Final declarations include Ilford North.

Focus on government transition if Labour wins.

Sunak to resign, Starmer invited to form new government.

Latest article